The Progress 50 robotic supply ship approaches the International Space Station during the fly-around prior to docking on Feb. 11, 2013. CREDIT: NASA TV

Robotic Russian Supply Ship Docks With Space Station

by Tariq Malik, SPACE.com Managing Editor
Date: 11 February 2013 Time: 03:40 PM ET

This story was updated at 3:40 p.m. EST.

An unmanned Russian spacecraft carrying nearly 3 tons of supplies arrived at the International Space Station Monday (Feb. 11) less than six hours after blasting off.

The robotic Progress 50 resupply ship docked with the orbiting lab at 3:35 p.m. EST (2035 GMT) Monday after launching from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:41 a.m. EST (1441 GMT). Such unmanned cargo trips have traditionally taken about two days.

The Progress 50 spacecraft is packed with about 2.9 tons of supplies for the space station’s six-man Expedition 34 crew. On Saturday (Feb. 9), the station astronauts discarded an older unmanned cargo ship, called Progress 48, in order to make room for Progress 50.

Read more: Home           Top of page