NRC Names Human Spaceflight Technical Feasibility Panel

Posted by Doug Messier on December 17, 2012, at 1:24 pm

The National Research Council’s (NRC’) Committee on Human Spaceflight has named 14 members to its Technical Feasibility Panel, which will help the committee evaluate the future of the American space program.

The panel is being chaired by John Sommerer, who is head of the space sector at John Hopkins University’s Applied Physics Laboratory (APL). Other notable members of the panel include: former NASA Chief Technologist Bobby Braun; Douglas Cooke, former NASA associate administrator for Exploration Systems; Robert Dickman, former commander of the 45th Space Wing; soft spacesuit designer Dava J. Newman; and space architect Guillermo Trotti.

The appointments, which were posted on Dec. 13, are provisional for 20 calendar days and are subject to public comment. Please use the feedback form on the announcement page to provide your input.

The full list of panel members is below followed by their biographies.

Read more: NRC Names Human Spaceflight Technical Feasibility Panel | Parabolic Arc.

Home           Top of page